Weekend farmer No more

20151015_001426702_iOS

It’s been almost a year since I promised myself I would take farming seriously. The commitment wasn’t easy to make since I have a day job. But the bug has caught me and I simply dove into it. Just an overview of the year that is almost over:

  1. I became a natural farmer. This might be the most valuable training I did as a farmer wanna-be.I resolved to know how to make my own fertilizers, the natural way . I will not have it any other way. Farming by nature , is by far the most efficient and inexpensive method I know. Under the tutelage of Andry Lim  for 3 days, I immersed myself into the world where paramount is respect for how nature operates.

2. I did an edible backyard garden. This is what I call , my lab. Where I process all my experimentations for vegetable growing – both direct in soil and in various containers. I propose for every passionate soul to make your backyard your playing field, to test all varieties, what works in your area  and doesn’t. No expert can beat you if you make your hands dirty and create your unique brand of gardening.

Bottle Gourds hanging in my outdoor service kitchen.

Bottle Gourds hanging in my outdoor service kitchen.

3. I decided I will complement the farming with beekeeping. This is real daunting for me. But I heard bees help pollinate all my veggies and fruit trees so why not give it a try. I have been inspired of the seminar given by UPLB on Beekeeping , and so I put my qualms aside and went on to strat with few colonies of the stingless bees. IMG_0694

4.I had no luck with chickens yet so I told myself, why not native pigs, that way I will have steady supply of manure for compost and I can raise my own meat. It wasn’t long before the two pigs I have became 7 in a matter of five months. IMG_0422

The experiences of the past 9 months prompted me to realize that being a farmer needs only small baby steps towards becoming a skillful one. Before long, even nature will smile at the efforts of one’s hands .

Nowadays, you can call me a regular everyday farmer.

2 responses to “Weekend farmer No more

  1. Your blog is very inspiring! I also want to have my own mini farm someday but you know I’m still scared to try it now. I planted bell peppers in a plastic cup, it bear two fruits before it died.

Leave a Reply

